Puppy = No Sleep

So Goomba finally came home. YAY! And I love him to pieces. He is the cutest little thing. But having a puppy means there is an extreme lack of sleep.

Here are a couple of pictures of the little nugget from this weekend..




So I apologize for the lack of posting.
Puppies are EXHAUSTING. We got him on Thursday night, and played with him for a while. Of course he got tired and ended up falling asleep on me. But when we put him in his crate to go to sleep for the night, he started crying. And crying. And wouldn’t stop crying. And he eventually started with a little bit of barking in between the crying and whining. It was so sad. A was always an absolutely no dog in the bed guy, and Thursday night, he actually said “now I know why people allow their dogs to sleep in the bed”. Don’t worry. No dogs in the bed here.

Thank goodness we had Friday off. We wanted to spend some time with him and get started on training him. We were so exhausted so I am very thankful that we had the day off. We spent much of the weekend training him, as well as a few visits from friends and family that wanted to meet the little guy.

Monday morning rolled around, and we needed to get ready for work. Boy does it take longer to get out of the house when you have a puppy. You have to feed him, obviously, and then wait a bit for him to have to go to the bathroom, and of course he wants to play. We are crating him, so when we left we put him in his crate and he kind of just looked at us with these sad eyes.
I went home at lunch, and found him crying. And he had pee’d in the crate, because puppies bladders are small and he just couldn’t hold it all that time. It was so sad. So I fed him, and then decided to take him with me back to work for the rest of the afternoon. I have my own office and my boss is pretty easy-going so I was able to. And he was pretty good. See for yourself

Yesterday evening we didn’t have any accidents in the house which was amazing. And he actually slept in his crate pretty well. Woke up a few times at night whining because he had to pee, but once we brought him out to do that he went back in his crate to sleep.

Goomba has an issue with peeing inside. He is great about pooping outside, but does not want to pee out there (and if it had to be one or the other I am glad it’s the pooping he does outside!). We will sit outside forever waiting for him to pee, and he won’t, but the second we bring him inside he goes. We have tried putting pads outside to get him to pee on those, but that doesn’t work either. Super frustrating. Last night he was a little better thankfully, but I am not sure if it was just luck.

Any thoughts out there on how we can get a puppy to want to pee outside, and not inside. It would be greatly appreciated. :)

2 thoughts on “Puppy = No Sleep

  1. Oh my gosh!!!! I so know the puppy/no sleep thing. Oh my gosh! I honestly didn’t know what to do with myself. I felt like an awful person because he cried ALL night forever. We don’t let him in the bed either. Luckily he trained pretty quickly and we could keep him in our room at night after that, but the month or so of him crying…plus having to get up with him earlier…well…I reconsidered parenthood there for a bit. Sorry, I don’t have any suggestions for getting him to pee outside. I hope someone gives you a good one. He is adorable, though. Seriously to die for. I could just kiss him and snuggle him. THAT FACE!

    • You are telling me I have a month of this?! I cant wait ;)

      We feel so bad every time we put him in his crate and he just starts crying. He is getting better, but it still makes me sad.

      And I am with you – you really think twice about whether you can handle a kid. I don’t know how people do a baby and a puppy at the same time – that just sounds crazy to me. I am good with just the puppy for now .. It’s definitely good practice come baby time :)

      Thanks for reading/commenting!! :)

Leave a Reply

