My version of therapy

Today was a rough day for me for some reason, but no particular reason. I was having a tough time focusing at work, and was getting annoyed with everything. Just one of those days I guess. I didn’t have a chance to do my usual lunch time workout because everyone else happened to be out of the office. It’s tougher for me to work out in the afternoon after work because I am tired and have a long commute home and just want to get home and get dinner going. Today, I convinced myself to get out there for a run after work. It was surprisingly warm here in the Boston area, I think it was around 60, which is very uncommon for this time of year. And I am so glad I did.
There are three things that I find are therapeutic for me – music, running, and the ocean. Today, I got all three. I decided to run along the ocean as the sun set, and it made my day.

Being so nice out temperature wise, I had such a good run. I actually had to stop at one point and just stand there and take it all in. So often we are flying through life and don’t stop to appreciate it. I was able to do this during my run – clear my head and just appreciate what is and where I am right now. I think we all need to do this during this time of the year with all the hustle and bustle. Enjoy the time with our loved ones, and even take some time out to ourselves.

Leave a Reply

