Date night

Going on dates is important – especially after you are married. So many people just fall into routine. A and I can be guilty of that. Boston is incredibly expensive – and we are trying to save money to buy a house – so we are pretty good about not going out every night like a lot of friends we have. When we do go out – it is usually with friends and other couples – so it is pretty rare when A and I just go out on a date, just us. At the same time – it really does make it all the more special and fun when we do get to go on a date just him and I.

This Wednesday was one of those date nights, and it was fantastic. I have always wanted to see The Nutcracker – yes, I am 26 and I have never seen it. Sad. In Boston, they play it every year, so this year, when I mentioned it to A, he said let’s make it a date night and go. YAY. So I got the tickets, and picked a Wednesday night, since during the week tickets are only 35 bucks, compared to the upwards of 80 bucks a ticket on weekends. Bargain! And one of the perks of living in / so close to the city.

So Wednesday after work, I cruised into the city and parked at A’s work. His work is a pretty central location so it was easy to walk to the Opera House, where the performance was being held.

I just love Boston at night.

I had found a restaurant near the Opera House (it’s not hard to find a restaurant in Boston, just a little more difficult finding one that won’t cost you you’re first unborn child and maybe a kidney.) Of course, being so close to the show, it was pretty packed, but there were luckily seats at the bar, so we decided to just sit there since it really didn’t make a difference to us – as long as we got food.
First up was a glass of wine for me and a beer for A. A said that he had to have a couple of beers in his system before going to see a ballet, but it was really just a facade because he was actually a little bit excited, or maybe he just told me that to make me feel better haha. Most likely the case – either way, he is a trooper for going with me!

Just a disclaimer – I apologize for the somewhat fuzzy pictures. A doesn’t like when I take pictures of food amongst other things while at dinner. I can’t help it – I love documenting it. So I try to take pictures without the flash so I don’t draw any attention to my obsession with taking pictures. Think of it as a compromise of sorts.

A got Fish and Chips – his go to meal whenever we go out. It’s either that, or chicken parmesean. He will deny it and says he gets a variety of things – but it’s usually between one of those two things.

I had a bite – and it was pretty good, and A really liked it.

As much as I give A a hard time about ordering the same thing – I am guilty of the same charge. While I really do like pretty much anything and everything, I usually go with either a shrimp dish, or salmon – because it’s usually one of the healthier things off the menu. I decided to go with the salmon, and it came with mashed potatoes and some asparagus. It was pretty good.

After dinner, we still had a bit of time to kill, so we decided to get dessert! Something we never do while out, but I saw on the menu that they had a chocolate chip cookie with vanilla ice cream slider, and I couldn’t say no. My two favorite deserts put together, yes please. It was so incredibly good.
I ate it as is.

A needed more chocolate, so he put hot fudge over it.

So dinner was fantastic, and then we made our way over to The Opera House. Of course we got all dressed up for the event, so it was even more exciting. I have been to a couple shows on broadway, not nearly enough and when I was much younger, so this was really exciting to me. We even got a couple glasses of champagne. Fancy I know. The Opera House in Boston is beautiful. I guess it was pretty run down not long ago and they just recently restored it. You can take pictures in the lobby area, but not inside the theatre. I was not happy about this because I love taking pictures and I just wanted to take some pictures of the inside of the theatre. I had my flash off – I wasn’t bothering anyone. I did end up getting one shot of the inside of the theatre (with no flash) – before the ushers came running over to tell me no photography. Lame. I played dumb and said I didn’t know and apologized.


The play was awesome. Everything I was imagining and more. A’s favorite character was the gingerbread man, he was dying laughing when he came out. He also liked the bear.

Watching this made me want to be a ballerina. I am the opposite of a ballerina – I am incredibly clutzy and trip over my own feet all the time. I am extremely ungraceful, unless of course it involves falling, in which case I somehow manage to fall with grace. I was in dance for three years when I was younger because my mom made me – but I complained and only wanted to be out on the soccer field. I am definitely a soccer player / anything but a ballerina – but I can only wonder if my mother had kept me in dance if today I would have been star of The Nutcracker.

Yeah. Not likely.

Anyways. The show was really good – and if it is playing in your area and you have never seen it before I would suggest giving it a shot. If nothing else, it makes for a great date.

2 thoughts on “Date night

  1. Loved the ballerina bit. I know exactly how you feel! Seldom a day goes by without me inflicting some sort of damage to myself.
    Would love to see Boston. Would love to see The Nutcracker. Thanks for the invitation to your world. Here’s to many happy years of marriage. Merry Christmas.

    • Boston is a great city and I would definitely try and make it out here some day. When you do – if you ever need some suggestions I would be more than happy to share a few 🙂
      And thanks for the read and well wishes! Merry Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

