So … SORE

A and I went snowboarding yesterday. His sister and her fiancée got us a gift card to Stratton mountain as a wedding gift. We figured we should probably use it this season, because getting a puppy will make spontaneous trips much more difficult to do next year.

It was a blast – but I am sooo incredibly sore today.

It has been 2 years since I have been boarding. And the last time I went, I was not very good. Skiing is a disaster for me – I am nowhere near coordinated enough. Snowboarding I can manage … but with my knee surgery last year, I wasn’t able to get out on the mountain. I was worried forgot how to board, or that I would have issues with my knee and kill myself going down the mountain.

Well I actually did really well. A ski’s and snowboard’s, and is amazing at both. He just has this knack for all things extreme. I am actually pretty jealous. He was a pretty good teacher and actually helped me get pretty decent in one day. I am terrified of lifts – I don’t like having to get on and off them, I am always worried about falling and having to have them stop the lift so I can get myself situated. But at Stratton, they have gondolas that take you to the top of the mountain, where you literally walk on and off, both feet on the ground, so I was all about that yesterday.
I would consider myself in pretty decent shape, being that I just ran in a relay marathon and have been continuing to work out – but you use such different muscles boarding. So I am incredibly sore today. Not to mention that I ate it hard on more than a few occasions when I started getting to comfortable and getting a little crazy. Of course I had a helmet, I made sure that A and I both got one. Thank goodness too, because there were a few times where I went down pretty hard and hit my head.

All in all we had an amazing day. It was a little too warm actually. It was about 65, so some trails were starting to melt and it got kind of annoying, but at least we weren’t freezing. Happy six months to us!

Here are a few pictures from our day 🙂

This is the resort area. It is so quaint and cute. Because it has been very warm and because it is a bit later in the season, it was pretty dead when we got there. Actually, it was pretty dead all day. We didn’t wait in line once for any of the lifts.
20120313-075136.jpg

Just a view from the main base area.
20120313-075155.jpg

View all the way from the top 🙂
20120313-075210.jpg

A strapping up.
20120313-075225.jpg

Me posing – probably after I took a good digger.
20120313-075237.jpg

Stratton.
20120313-075248.jpg

Another nice thing about the trip yesterday … a day off from work! So while today feels like Monday, it is actually Tuesday! Love 4 day work weeks!

3 thoughts on “So … SORE

  1. 65 is … too warm. We were sweating in all our stuff. Not to mention that it was too wet, so if you fell, you immediately got soaked. But at least once you were soaked you were still warm I guess. Glad to hear that the better I get the less sore I feel afterwards. This is torture haha. Thanks for reading!

  2. That looks AMAZING! And fun…
    I use to love going to Vermont… When I was a younger lad my family and i use to go to Smugglers Notch and Jay Peak skiing every winter

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

